Tracking DrumsIN-HOME BEGINNER LESSONS
My name is Dan Snellenbarger. I am a multi-instrumentalist and have been involved with music for most of my life.

I am offering in-home music lessons for beginners. My offer includes a free evaluation, where we can meet and discuss goals, as well as any music equipment you or your child may need to get started with learning.

Pictured: Recording drums in a studio in Los Angeles.

My in-home beginner music lessons are $30 for one hour. My goal is to primarily serve the Dallas Oregon area.

Please read below for more details, including how you can contact me.

A BRIEF HISTORY
I studied trumpet in grade school for five years. During this time I also took drum lessons from John W. McMahan in Anderson, IN. I switched to playing drums in the school bands in my last year of grade school.

In school I would play drums in the marching band, pep band, and theater. I also played guitar in the jazz band. During my junior high and high school years I studied under the direction of Richard Paul in Indianapolis, IN.

My studies with Richard Paul would continue at Ball State University, where I studied for two years in their Percussion Arts program. This involved studies and performance in drums, percussion, marimba, piano, string bass, voice, music theory, and composition. During this time I played drums in the marching band at Ball State University, while going back to my old high school to be a band camp counselor for the drum line.

Early drumming, Spring 1966A major change in my family's situation and direction lead me to leave college and move to Los Angeles in 1986. During my 33 years there, I played in a variety of bands as a drummer, bassist, guitarist, and keyboardist. I also wrote a musical in 1987 called "In The Chips" with Angus "Mac" MacDonald, which is still in production to this day.

Pictured: Me drumming at 18 months in Spring 1966.

My musical aptitude and abilities are a combination of decades of study, and are heavily influenced by my High-Functioning Autism.

MY CURRENT STATUS
I moved to Dallas, Oregon in late May 2019 with my girlfriend of 20 years, Catherine "Junior" Jones. My early upbringing in a small Indiana town, as well as her upbringing in Seattle, inspired us to select Oregon as our new home. Plus, her "mummy" lives here! Although we are in Oregon for the long haul, I am current finishing up work on a musical that I was involved with for the past 7 years. Our final mix date is October 3, 2019.

On top of this inspiration is our goals. We both worked in big corporate jobs in Los Angeles for a long time. I worked for companies like MySpace, Lynda, and LinkedIn. But now that we are older, we want to slow down and have a more simple life. She is currently working in Dallas.

As for me, I am continuing the next chapter of my musical life by setting out to be a teacher for beginners.

Preparing for Indiana State Fair, Summer 1981WHAT I TEACH
I teach drums, piano, guitar, and bass. What I teach involves how music works, how to start learning to read music, instrument tuning and care, proper instrument technique, patience, and fun. I also teach ear training, which involves learning how to "hear" your instrument, including intervals.

Each student gets their own unique lesson structure. This is based on how they learn, how quickly they learn, and how their lessons progress in general.

Pictured: Preparing for the Indiana State Fair, Summer 1981.

HOW I TEACH
Many of my music teachers were very dry and fact-driven. My approach is to include the facts and details of music education in a format where the beginner is learning how to play along with their favorite music. Music teachers have to keep it fun and interesting for their students. There is nothing more fun than learning how to play along with your favorite song.

I also encourage videotaping the lesson, or even just segments, for learning purposes.

WHO I TEACH
My focus is in helping beginners get their start with music, which can be the most challenging aspect. A beginner is anyone who is just starting out. They can be a child, a teen, or even an adult. There is no age limit. Anyone can learn if they want to learn.

WHERE I TEACH
The beauty of this is that I will come to your home to teach! You pick the room and we make it happen.

REQUIREMENTS
There are a few requirements that come into play with my lessons.

  1. Equipment: Every student has to acquire their own equipment for their lessons. Part of my evaluation, which I will detail later, involves what equipment is required and an estimate on the cost. I do not sell equipment.
  2. Adult Supervision: For minors over the age of 18, a parent must be in the room at all times for every lesson.
  3. Practice: Yes, you have to practice. In the name of honesty and integrity, I will keep teaching so long as the student is still a beginner and is practicing. I recommend practicing for at least 20 minutes per day, every day.
  4. Cash Payment: My rate is $30 per hour and must be paid in cash before the start of every lesson.

YOUR FREE EVALUATION
My first visit is free. In this visit, my goal is to achieve several things. For starters, you get to ask me questions and know more about me. Beyond that, we will discuss the instrument that you or your child want to learn. We will talk about the instrument and what it takes to get started. If you need to purchase an instrument, then I can guide you in how to find something that is good for a beginner that can last through your Intermediate phase of learning, or even beyond.

Playing Piano in the Dorm at BSU, 1984I will also be asking questions about what kinds of music you or your child like, as well as learning goals and what to expect.

My ultimate goal in all of this is to help you to understand what you're getting into so that all of the mystery is removed. Getting started with music is difficult on many levels. Removing the mystery also removes any fears or concerns.

The free evaluation should take no more than 30 minutes. At the end of the evaluation, we can set up a schedule for weekly one-hour lessons. But if you're not quite certain by the end of the free evaluation, then you can take a day or two to think about it before we proceed. My goal is to have a full schedule soon.

THANK YOU FOR READING!
If you've made it this far, then thank you for reading and for considering me to be your in-home music teacher for you or your child. I am very excited about being in Dallas. It already feels like home.

To book an evaluation or to ask additional questions, you can email me at drumwild at me dot com. I usually respond to all emails on the same day.

Everyone learns differently. I am ready to teach you differently.

 

Copyright 1999-2019 Dan Snellenbarger